Hans Christian Andersen Award and Lindgren Award

MoribitoHans Christian Andersen Award: The 2014 Hans Christian Andersen Awards were announced on March 24, 2014, naming Japanese author Nahoko Uehashi and Brazilian illustrator Roger Mello this year’s recipients. The Andersen is the most prestigious international children’s book award. Uehashi is best known for her fantasy novels, including Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit and its sequels, published by Arthur Levine/Scholastic. Mello’s work celebrates Brazilian culture. For more information, see:   www.publishersweekly.com/pw/by-topic/childrens/childrens-industry-news/article/61559-nahoko-uehashi-and-roger-mello-receive-2014-hans-christian-andersen-awards.html.

Barbro Lindgren named ALMA Winner:  Swedish author Barbro Lindgren has been Lindgrennamed this year’s winner of the ALMA, the Astrid Lindgren Memorial Award, for children’s and young adult literature. The award is named after the creator of the “Pippi Longstocking” books; Barbro Lindgren is not related to Astrid Lindgren. This international award includes a monetary prize of over three quarters of a million dollars. For more information, see: www.slj.com/2014/03/awards/swedish-author-barbro-lindgren-to-receive-alma-2014/#_.

This entry was posted in Awards and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s