Rainbow List, O’Dell Award, Asian Pacific, American Indian, Amelia Bloomer, NCTE Orbis Awards

Better NateMore Children’s and YA Book Awards Announced – Rainbow List
GLBT 2014 Rainbow List:  http://glbtrt.ala.org/rainbowbooks/archives/1103 – Thirty books for children and teens that celebrate the Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual, Transgender community were selected. Titles noted with an asterisk are Top Ten Titles. This list is compiled by the GLBT and Social Responsibilities Round Tables of the American Library Association. Check the link for the full list.

Bo at Ballard CreekThe Scott O’Dell Award for Historical Fiction will be given to Bo at Ballard Creek by Kirkpatrick Hill (Holt, 2013). http://www.scottodell.com/pages/ScottO%27DellAwardforHistoricalFiction.aspx

The Asian Pacific American Librarians Association was founded in 1980.  Every year, they present the Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature for titles ranging from picture books to adult titles. Though APALA hasn’t released an official press release yet, they announced their winners at Midwinter.  The 2014 winners are:

  • Picture Book: Red Kite, Blue Kite by Ji-li Jiang (Honor Book: Barbed Wire Baseball by Marissa Moss)
  • Children’s Literature: The Thing About Luck by Cynthia Kadohata (Honor Book: The Vine Basket by Josanne La)
  • Young Adult Literature:  Jet Black and the Ninja Wind by Leza Lowitz and Shogo Oketani Valley (Honor Book: Gadget Girl: The Art of Being Invisible by Suzanne      Kamata)

American Indian Library Association announced the recipients of their 2014 Youth Literature Award:  http://americanindiansinchildrensliterature.blogspot.com/2014/01/2014-recipients-of-american-indian.html

Caribou SongPicture Book Winner:

Caribou Song by Tomson Highway, illustrated by John Rombough published by Fifth House.

Middle School Winner: 

How I Became A Ghost by Tim Tingle, published by RoadRunner Press.

Middle School Honor:

Danny Blackgoat: Navajo Prisoner by Tim Tingle, published by 7th Generation.

Young Adult Winner:

Killer of Enemies by Joseph Bruchac, published by Tu Books

Young Adult Honor:

If I Ever Get Out Of Here by Eric Gansworth, published by Scholastic

Brave GirlThe Amelia Bloomer Project creates a whole booklist of the best feminist books for readers ages 0-18. The Amelia Bloomer Project is part of the Feminist Task Force of the Social Responsibilities Round Table of the American Library Association. The entire 2014 Amelia Bloomer List will be released soon, but they have already released their Top Ten.  Some selections:

  • Flying Solo: How Ruth Elder Soared into America’s Hearts by Julie Cummins
  • Global Baby Girls from the Global Fund for Children
  • Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909 by Michelle Markel

NCTE Orbis Picture Award

Splash of RedThe National Council of Teachers of English (NCTE) announced the winners of the Orbis Pictus Award on January 24. The prize was established in 1989 to promote and recognize excellence in the writing of nonfiction for children. School Library Journal Best Book and 2014 Schneider Family Medal-winning A Splash of Red: The Life and Art of Horace Pippin by Jen Bryant and illustrated by Melissa Sweet (Knopf) took the top prize.

Honor Books:

Locomotive by Brian Floca, (S & S)
2014 Caldecott and Sibert Honor-winning and SLJ Best Book

The Boy Who Loved Math: The Improbable Life of Paul Erdos
by Deborah Heiligman, illustrated by LeUyen Pham, (Roaring Brook)

Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909
by Michelle Markel, illustrated by Melissa Sweet, (HarperCollins/Balzer + Bray)
SLJ Best Book

Parrots Over Puerto Rico
by Susan L. Roth and Cindy Trumbore, (Lee & Low)
2014 Sibert Medalist and SLJ Best Book

Courage Has No Color: The True Story of the Triple Nickles, America’s First Black Paratroopers
by Tanya Lee Stone, (Candlewick)

The winning books will be honored at the NCTE Annual Convention in Washington, DC, during the Books for Children Luncheon on Saturday, November 22. For the full list of recommended titles, see the NCTE website.

This entry was posted in Awards, News and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s