Jewish Book Award Winners Announced

Jewish Book Award Winners Announced

War WithinThe 63rd annual Jewish Book Awards were announced on Jan. 15, 2014. These awards are given by the Jewish Book Council, in 17 categories. In the Children’s and YA category, the winner is The War Within These Walls by Aline Sax, illustrated by Caryl Strzelecki, and translated by Laura Watkinson, from Eerdmans publisher. The other finalists are Kathy Kacer’s Shanghai Escape (Second Story Press), and Kathryn Lasky’s The Extra (Candlewick). In the picture book category, the winner is Hanukkah Bear by Eric A. Kimmel, illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka, from Holiday House. The other finalists in the picture book category are Rabbi Sandy Eisenberg Sasso’s Creation’s First Light (IBJ), illustrated by Joanie Rothenberg, and Allegra Magrisso’s When Sarah Laughed (Allegra Magrisso), illustrated by Beth Shadur.

Hanukkah BearFor more information, see:  

This entry was posted in Awards, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s