ACL Meeting Reminder, Read-alikes for Lyddie by Katherine Paterson

ACL Meeting Friday, January 10, 2014:  Just a quick reminder for our Bay Area members!  Please join us for our ACL Meeting on Friday, January 10, 2014, from 9am1pm at the Oakland Main Library.   We will have our usual Book Reviewing, and a discussion of Distinguished Books, and a discussion on our expanded ratings rubric. For more information, see: www.bayviews.org/calendar.html#meetings

LyddieRead-alikes for Lyddie by Katherine Paterson

Thanks to Sarah Stippich from the Philadelphia Free Library for her PUBYAC Listserv post on books for children on organized labor. This list includes both nonfiction and fiction. Here is her list with a few additions of my own:

Adler, David A. A Picture Book of Cesar Chavez.

Auch, Mary Jane. Ashes of Roses.

Bartoletti, Susan. Kids on Strike!

Bartoletti, Susan. The Journal of Finn Reardon (My Name is America).

Brown, Monica. Side by Side/Lado a Lado: The Story of Dolores Huerta and Cesar Chavez/La Historia de Dolores Huerta y Cesar Chavez.

Burgan, Michael. Breaker Boys: How a Photograph Helped End Child Labor.

Cohn, Diana. Si, Se Puede/Yes, We Can! Janitor Strike in L.A.

Cronin, Doreen. Click, Clack, Moo: Cows That Type.

Currie, Stephen. We Have Marched Together: The Working Children’s Crusade.

Doctorow, Cory. For the Win.

Freedman, Russell. Kids at Work: Lewis Hine and the Crusade Against Child Labor.

Gourley, Catherine. Good Girl Work: Factories, Sweatshops, and How Women Changed Their Role in the American Workforce.

Greenwood, Barbara. Factory Girl.

Haddix, Margaret Peterson. Uprising.

Hopkinson, Deborah. Hear My Sorrow: The Diary of Angela Denoto, a Shirtwaist Worker.

Krull, Kathleen. Harvesting Hope: The Story of Cesar Chavez.

Lyon, George Ella. Which Side Are You On? The Story of a Song.

Markel, Michelle. Brave Girl: Clara and the Shirtwaist Makers’ Strike of 1909.

Marrin, Albert. Flesh and Blood So Cheap: The Triangle Fire and Its Legacy.

McCully, Emily Arnold. The Bobbin Girl.

Nagara, Innosanto. A Is for Activist.  (board book)

Nelson, Scott Reynolds. Ain’t Nothing But a Man: My Quest to Find the Real John Henry.

Otfinoski, Steven. The Child Labor Reform Movement: an Interactive History Adventure.

Paterson, Katherine. Bread and Roses, Too.

Robinet, Harriette Gillem. Missing from Haymarket Square.

Soto, Gary. Jessie DeLaCruz: a Profile of a United Farm Worker.

Waddell, Martin. Farmer Duck.

Winthrop, Elizabeth. Counting on Grace.

Also, check out this website “Solidarity Holiday” – http://talkingunion.wordpress.com/2012/12/09/childrens-books-for-solidarity-holiday/,  and the website of the Jane Addams Children’s Book Awards: www.janeaddamspeace.org/jacba/docs/AddamsWinnerHonors2004-2013.pdf

By Penny Peck, San Jose State Univ.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in ACL Events, Message from ACL, Read-alikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s