Read-Alikes for P.L. Travers’ “Mary Poppins”

PoppinsRead-alikes for Mary Poppins by P.L Travers:

These are all children’s books with distinctive Nanny characters.  You may have readers interested in the “Poppins” books if they have seen the new film “Saving Mr. Banks,” about the meeting between Walt Disney and P.L. Travers concerning the 1964 film version.

Barrie, J.M. Peter Pan.

Brand, Christianna. Tales of Nurse Matilda.

Burch, Christian. The Manny Files.

               Hit the Road, Manny.

Burch, Robert. Ida Early Comes Over the Mountain.

Fitzhugh, Louise. Harriet the Spy.

Gliori, Debi. Pure Dead Magic.

Hermes, Patricia. Emma Dilemma and the New Nanny.

               Emma Dilemma and the Camping Nanny.

Emma Dilemma and the Two Nannies.

Emma Dilemma, the Nanny, and the Wedding.

Ibbotson, Eva. Journey to the River Sea.

MacDonald, Betty. Mrs. Piggle Wiggle.

               Mrs. Piggle Wiggle’s Farm.

               Hello, Mrs. Piggle Wiggle.

               Mrs. Piggle Wiggle’s Magic.

               Happy Birthday, Mrs. Piggle Wiggle.

Meloy, Colin. Under Wildwood.

Norton, Mary. Bedknobs and Broomsticks.

Pinkwater, Daniel M. Mrs. Noodlekugel.

Mrs. Noodlekugel and the Four Blind Mice.

Spratt, R. A. The Adventures of Nanny Piggins.

Nanny Piggins and the Runaway Lion.

                 Nanny Piggins and the Wicked Plan.

Strasser, Todd. Here Comes Heavenly.

Thompson, Emma. Nanny McPhee Returns.

Thompson, Kay. Eloise (series).

Wood, Maryrose. The Mysterious Howling: The Incorrigible Children of Ashton Place.

By Penny Peck, San Jose State Univ.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Read-alikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s