Read-a-likes for Gennifer Choldenko’s “Al Capone Does My Homework”

al caponeReadalikes for Gennifer Choldenko’s “A Tale from Alcatraz” series, in celebration of the series’ final book Al Capone Does My Homework, Dial, 2013. Books set during the Great Depression:

Ayres, Katherine. Macaroni Boy.

Curtis, Christopher Paul. Bud Not Buddy.

Curtis, Christopher Paul. The Mighty Miss Malone.

Durbin, William. The Journal of C.J. Jackson: a Dust Bowl Immigrant.

Fusco, Kimberly Newton. The Wonder of Charlie Anne.

Gates, Doris. Blue Willow.

Giff, Patricia Reilly. R My Name Is Rachel.

Hale, Marian. The Truth About Sparrows.

Hesse, Karen. Out of the Dust.

Hoberman, Mary Ann. Strawberry Hill.

Holm, Jennifer L. Turtle in Paradise.

Koller, Jackie French. Nothing to Fear.

Larson, Kirby. The Friendship Doll.

Martin, Ann M. Better to Wish.

Meltzer, Milton. Tough Times.

Nodelman, Perry. Not a Nickle to Spare: the Great Depression Diary of Sally Cohen.

Peck, Richard. A Year Down Yonder.

Peck, Richard. A Long Way from Chicago.

Pinkney, Andrea Davis. Bird in a Box.

Ryan, Pamela Munoz. Esperanza Rising.

Snyder, Zilpha Keatley. Cat Running.

Taylor, Mildred. Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry.

Vanderpool, Clare. Moon Over Manifest.

Yep, Laurence. Dragon Road.

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Read-alikes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s