Read-Alikes for “Magic Tree House” Series

Magic Tree HouseThe “Magic Tree House” series by Mary Pope Osborne is still a best-seller, and a perfect summer read for those entering 2nd or 3rd grade.  Here are some other transitional novels with a sci fi or mystery element:

Abbott, Tony. Secrets of Droon series

Adler, David. Cam Jansen series

Alexander, Lloyd. Time Cat

Conrad, Pam. Stonewords

Eager, Edward. Half Magic and sequels

Greenburg, Dan. The Zack Files series

Greer, Gerry. Max and Me and the Time Machine

Gutman, Dan. Baseball Card Adventures series

McAllister, Margaret. Ghost at the Window

McMullan, Kate. The Dragon Slayers’ Academy series

Meacham, Margaret. Quiet! You’re Invisible

Osterweil, Adam. The Comic Book Kid

Preller, James. Jigsaw Jones series

Ransom, Candice F. The Time Spies series

Roy, Ron. A to Z Mysteries series

Scieszka, Jon. The Time Warp Trio series

Skurzynski, Gloria. National Parks Mysteries series

Stilton, Geronimo. Geronimo Stilton series

Winthrop, Elizabeth. Castle in the Attic

Woodruff, Elvira. George Washington’s Socks

Advertisements
This entry was posted in Read-alikes and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Read-Alikes for “Magic Tree House” Series

  1. Pingback: Weekly Recap and a few links | The Novel World

  2. Sonia says:

    This is a really useful post – we’re now through with the Magic Tree House (part of me says ‘thank god!’ and although I am familiar with some of the books on your list, most are new and I look forward to reading them with my daughter.

    I also wanted to point out a book that would make a nice addition to your list: Ramani, Madhvi. Nina and the Travelling Spice Shed. Thanks.

  3. Pingback: Community Post: 21 Great Book Series From Your Childhood | Tips & News

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s