PEN Awards Announced

PEN/Phyllis Naylor Working Writer Fellowship ($5,000): To an author of children’s or young-adult fiction, who has published at least two books, to complete a book-length work-in-progress. Judges: Daniel Handler, Lyn Miller-Lachman, and Neal Shusterman.

WINNER: Sarah Dooley, Free Verse (forthcoming from G.P. Putnam’s Sons).

PEN/Steven Kroll Award Honoring the Author of an Illustrated Children’s Book ($5,000): To a writer for an exceptional story illustrated in a picture book published in 2011. Presented for the first time in 2012. Judges for the inaugural award: Carmen Agra Deedy, Susan Kuklin, and Vera B. Williams.

WINNER: Patricia C. McKissack, Never Forgotten (Schwartz & Wade Books).

Submitted by Ruth I. Gordon

This entry was posted in Awards, News and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s