Play Summit at Sacramento Public Library Sept. 13, 2014

PlaySummitLogo-20142014 Play Summit date has been set for September 13, 9:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m.

2014 Play Summit will be held at Central Library, 828 I Street, Sacramento, CA 95814.

Early Bird Registration Deadline: August 31, 2014
$35 per person
$25 students, seniors (65+), members of Fairytale Town, Friends of the Sacramento Library or ScholarShare account holders.

General Registration: Beginning September 1, 2014
$45 per person
$35 students, seniors (65+), members of Fairytale Town, Friends of the Sacramento Library or ScholarShare account holders.

Register Today via Fairytale Town’s website.  Parking
$6 flat rate parking fee for attendees at the Standard Parking garage (8th and J Streets).
Play is the most important work of childhood, setting the foundation for a child’s physical, mental, emotional and cognitive wellbeing. Yet there are growing threats and limitations placed on the time, resources and spaces devoted to play.

The 2nd annual Sacramento Play Summit, presented by Fairytale Town, ScholarShare Speaks and the Sacramento Public Library, aims to highlight the importance of play, the many types of play, ways to incorporate play into daily and school life, and more. For full information on speakers, breakout sessions, hotel accommodations, etc., go to: http://www.saclibrary.org/playsummit/ .

Posted in Professional Development | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week – The Pilot and the Little Prince

pilot and little princeSis, Peter. The Pilot and the Little Prince: The Life of Antoine de Saint-Exupéry. Peter Sis, Illus. Non-fiction. Farrar, 2014. [48]p. $17.99.  978-0-374-38069-4. OUTSTANDING GRADES 2-5

In the latest exemplary picture book biography by Caldecott Honor recipient Sis, he describes the life and career of French aviator and author Antoine de Saint-Exupéry, best known for The Little Prince (1943). The main text runs along the bottom of the illustrations and can be read through for a concise but clear overview of his life. Within the spreads, there are spot illustrations captioned in small print with interesting facts that elaborate on the subject described in the main text below; these fact bits are likely to appeal to an older reader. These parallel narratives make this appealing to a wide age range, and although there are no source notes, there is a brief bibliography on the verso. The stunning illustrations, which appear to be watercolors with ink details, are fanciful yet still convey much factual information. For example, in an early spread on his youth as a dreamer, there are replications of notable images from Georges Mèliés’ film, A Trip to the Moon. Some spreads are wordless, and many evoke emotions that words cannot convey, especially the spread on WW II. Review based on an ARC.

Penny Peck, San Jose State Univ, SLIS

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Out of the Ordinary

Out of the Ordinary: Reissues and other unusual books

Mary EnglebreitEngelbreit, Mary. Mary Engelbreit’s Nursery and Fairy Tales Collection. Illus. by Mary Engelbreit. Harper, 2014. $11.99. ISBN 978-0-06-228707-6.

Although Engelbreit’s colorful and pleasantly sweet illustrations are nice, this book has a fatal flaw: no source notes. Worse, it includes several stories by Hans Christian Andersen with no mention of his name. The low price indicates this was made to sell to parents, not libraries, but that is no excuse for these omissions.
The retellings are brief and relatively free of violence. For example, Red Riding Hood is swallowed by the wolf, but the woodcutter convinces the wolf to let Red and granny “step out unharmed. Embarrassed, the wolf ran away.” The Gingerbread Man also runs away, and is not eaten by the fox. Another unusual ending occurs for the Little Mermaid, who doesn’t dissolve into the foam of the sea, but rises into the air with “friendly spirits” that look like angels. Although Andersen’s original also ended with her gaining a soul, the picture of the Little Mermaid and the angels is too literal. It appears that these “kind” versions are intended for very young children.
The illustrations appear to be done using watercolor or gouache, and for the most part depict a European setting during the Middle Ages. The exception is “Aladdin,” set in the Middle East. A few of the European stories feature non-white characters, including an African-American Thumbelina and Jack and his mother of Beanstalk fame, but those are the only exceptions.
Ten of the stories were previously published in Mary Engelbreit’s Fairy Tales: Twelve Timeless Treasures in 2010, including “Aladdin,” “Snow White and the Seven Dwarfs,” “Cinderella,” “The Frog Prince,” and “The Little Mermaid.” If a library has that book, this one is not a good choice due to the overlapping content.

MamokoMizielinska, Aleksandra. The World of Mamoko In the Year 2000: Use Your Eyes! Illus. by Daniel Mizielinski. Candlewick, 2014. $17.99. ISBN 978-0-7636-7125-9.

First published in Poland in 1912, this is the second Mamoko book; the previous was Welcome to Mamoko: Use Your Eyes! (2013). Basically this is a “Where’s Waldo?” – type of wordless book; the first spread has a spot illustration of each character (28 in all, one is a family) with a one sentence description. The following spreads are wordless, and readers are encouraged to find the various characters and make up a story about what is happening in the illustrations.
Mamoko is the world in which these various characters live; many are animals in clothing but some are extraterrestrials. On spread depicts their apartments, others a park, shopping mall, factory, and music concert. The full color illustrations appear to be hand-drawn ink cartoons, colored with a nice palette of soft greens, pinks, blues, and yellows.
The characters may live in the future but they generally do everyday tasks from shopping to exercising. Overall, this will have some appeal but seems to lack a cohesive quality.

Planes, trainsLemanski, Mike and Chris Oxlade. Planes, Trains, and Automobiles: A Visual History of Modern Transportation Featuring 100 Iconic Designs. Illus. by Mike Lemanski. Big Picture Press, 2014. $17.99. ISBN 978-0-7636-7121-1.

Measuring six and a half feet, this concertina folded timeline of transportation will be great for the museum gift shop but won’t hold up to library use. One hundred modes of transportation are depicted, from various ships, horse-drawn Hansom cabs, bicycles, and other early 1800’s devices to airplanes, cars, and a Segway (unfortunately, no cable car).
On one side of the foldout are the illustrations of the various types of transportation. The digitally-created artwork resembles ink and watercolor drawings, and covers machines from all over the world with the bulk coming from England and the U.S. On the other side of the foldout are small paragraphs of information on each of the items, with the year they were introduced and in what country. For example, for the Model T Ford, 1908, U.S., the brief description says this car was made to be affordable for the average person, selling more than 15 million cars. For the Titanic, 1912, U.K., it is described as the largest ship in the world when it launched, and describes its sinking.
Clearly a browsing item for transportation fans, this will have a wide age appeal and makes a great gift book.

Hurty FeelingsLester, Helen. Hurty Feelings. Illus. by Lynn Munsinger. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2004/2014. $8.99. ISBN 978-0-544-10622-2.

Lester, Helen. Princess Penelope’s Parrot. Illus. by Lynn Munsinger. Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 1996/2014. $8.99. ISBN 978-0-544-10606-2.

Two of Lester-Munsinger’s classic picture books have been reissued with downloadable audio files, so readers can visit the website http://www.hmhbooks.com/freedownloads to have the story read to them. The access code is on the verso of the title page, so it will be easy for those using library copies to hear the audio file. The website also offers a free discussion and activity guide that teachers will find especially useful.
The narrators for the two books that this reviewer heard were young women, who spoke at a measured pace that will be perfect for emergent readers who would like to follow along. The narrators were clear and had a good energy that will draw in listeners. There are some subtle background noises that augment the story, such as jungle noises, and there are page-turning signals that sound like chimes.
The books are not adapted or abridged, but appear in the original format. Munsinger’s pastel watercolor and ink cartoons add much humor to Lester’s stories; this pair is a true collaboration. Although these stories have messages such as sharing, being kind, and so forth, they are not didactic.
Other reissues by Lester and Munsinger that have the free audio download include It Wasn’t My Fault, Listen Buddy, A Porcupine Named Fluffy, Me First, The Sheep in Wolf’s Clothing, and The Wizard, the Fairy, and the Magic Chicken. These would be great replacement copies if your originals are worn or missing.

Penny Peck, San Jose State Univ. SLIS

Posted in Out of the Ordinary | Leave a comment

ALA Conference Reports Part 4, Helen Block ALSC Member, Infopeople Course on Children’s Services

More Reports from the ALA Conference, from Elizabeth Overmyer:

Sutton1. General buzz: not a program, but I found that many of my ALA acquaintances are ruminating over the January revision of the ALSC guidelines for reviewing by those who are currently serving on an ALA award committee. For a glimpse of the discussion, you can find Roger Sutton’s Horn Book editorial and a long train of responses at http://www.hbook.com/2014/06/opinion/editorials/editorial-dont-speak/ The final document is available on the ALSC website at http://www.ala.org/alsc/sites/ala.org.alsc/files/content/aboutalsc/governance/hndbk/ALSC_policy_award_service_January%202014.docx.

2. Term I learned: HOMAGO: Hanging out, messing around and geeking out” – as one of the main ways young people like to use libraries; mentioned in a program about teen collaborations in 24 learning labs across the country funded by a partnership of the Institute of Museum and Library Services, the MacArthur Foundation, the Urban Libraries Council and the Association of Science-Technology Centers.

3. A “conversation starter” about storytimes and early literacy was presented by Amy Koester, Cory Eckert, Kendra Jones, and Brooke Rasche, who reminded the audience that in addition to building reading/listening skills, storytimes foster development of a child’s experience in playing, talking, singing, and moving. They suggested these online resources for lots of hands-on examples for ways to reinforce the whole range. They are also very excited about a new project, Storytime University, (storytimeunderground.org) , which sponsors “Guerilla Storytime” materials and challenges librarians to earn online badges as they build their programming skills.

meusenotes.blogspot.com : Notes from the Story Room
btbstorytimes.blogspot.com : Beyond the Book Storytimes with blogger Steven Engelfried, our own Sally’s brother! / check out his “Act It Out” ideas
http://showmelibrarian.blogspot.com/p/all-things-steam.html: yep, lots of STEAM ideas
missmegsstorytime.com: Lots of movement activities
flannelfridaystorytime.blogspot.com: collaborative effort to post new flannel board ideas weekly
http://www.wccls.org/rhymes – one library’s collection of demo videos of fingerplays, including a selection in Spanish
MUSIC/ SONG ideas: storyblocks.org, http://drjean.org/html/about.html, http://learningstationmusic.com/
Jbrary.com – storytime resources from librarians, for colleagues, parents, early childhood educators
http://storytimekatie.com/ – fingerplays, songs, and good round-ups of library programming ideas from many different blogs. Elizabeth Overmyer

BlochHelen Bloch of the Oakland Library Featured ALSC Member: Check out this interview with Helen Bloch on the ALSC website, discussing Everyday Advocacy – http://www.ala.org/everyday-advocacy/everyday-advocacy-matters-ea-spotlight-july-2014.

 

 

photopennyChildren’s Services Fundamentals: An Infopeople online course, September 9 to October 6, 2014 -
Do you want to be more comfortable and confident in providing library services to children and their families? In this course, expert children’s librarian and author Penny Peck will help you gain the skills to:
• Conduct an effective reference interview with children
• Determine children’s reading interests and find books to meet those interests
• Plan entertaining programs to attract families to your library
• Promote books and reading to children of all ages
Fee: $75 for those in the California library community and Infopeople Partners, $150 for all others. For a complete course description and to register go to https://infopeople.org/civicrm/event/info?reset=1&id=419
Note: This course is approved as covering the Youth Services competencies for the LSSC program in combination with Teen Services Fundamentals.

Posted in Message from ACL, Professional Development | Tagged , , , | Leave a comment

Review of the Week

cat says meowArndt, Michael. Cat Says Meow (and other Animalopoeia).  Michael Arndt, Illus. Picture book.  Chronicle, 2014. [36]p. $12.99. 978-1-4251-1234-3. OUTSTANDING. GRADES PRE-K.

Inspired by animals and typography, Arndt presents a marvelous book whereby an animal’s sound is incorporated into its illustration. Each picture of an animal is accompanied by a single sentence with its sound. “Fish say g-g-g-g-glub g-g-g-g-glub g-g-g-g-glub.” The body of the fish is blue, the four “G”s represent scales, “L” represents a mouth and “UB” are the eyes. In all, 25 different animal illustrations and their sounds are presented against a simple white background. Each animal is illustrated in one color, using both positive and negative space and various font sizes and styles. Fascinating illustrations make this clever and unique book a triumph in graphic design. Adults will enjoy Cat Says Meow just as much as children will.
Dayni Kuo, Oakland PL

Posted in Review of the Week | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Reports from ALA Conference by ACL Members, Part 3, and New BayNews Posted

Book WhispererAASL President’s Program, featuring Donalyn Miller: Donalyn Miller, 5th grade teacher / author of The Book Whisperer and Reading in the Wild, gave the keynote address for this program. She described the ways she has created a culture of reading in her classroom, and spoke about cultivating kids’ love of reading in a way that was very much on-the-ground and with big appreciation for kids’ interests and habits. Based on this presentation, I highly recommend her books as professional development reading for school librarians! Her specific methods don’t translate directly to a public library environment, but her passion was awesome and I left feeling inspired in my own personal reading life and even more excited about connecting kids with books that they’ll truly love.

Children’s Librarians in the Lead: Managing Change, Inspiring Innovation & Empowering the Next Generation featuring panelists Amber Creeger, Arlington Heights; Gretchen Caserotti, Idaho; Keira Parrott, School Library Journal: This power session provided food for thought to children’s librarians as they transition into management positions, and offered lots of encouragement for children’s services staff to see ourselves and each other as leaders. The panelists pointed out that children’s librarians have tons of leadership skills, including creativity, humor, flexibility, good public relations, and the ability to manage complex events. One of my favorite take-aways was their statement on how to be a leader: show up, volunteer to do something, do it, repeat.” Another was, don’t fake it til you make it; rather, trust in yourself and act with purpose. An empowering program!

Miriam Medow, Oakland Public Library, Dimond Branch

DeafoBook Buzz presented by Amulet/Abrams Publishers: The authors present and presenting were Tom Angleberger (Origami Yoda) Cece Bell (El Deafo) and Margi Preus (West of the Moon). The spotlight was on questions and as they asked for ideas on future books. I introduced myself and mentioned I did reviews for BAYVIEWS –described our association and then the suggestion I made was writing a book about sibling rivalry with a common sport or activity involved for example, ballet or tennis.

Marya Kurwa, Richmond Public Library

 

Porcupine Named FluffyNew ACL BayNews Posted: The July BayNews (the newsletter for the Association of Children’s Librarians of Northern California) is now available on our website: http://www.bayviews.org/baynews.html. You will find read-alikes for Brandon Mull’s Sky Raiders, and Storytime outlines on Riddles, and Rhinos. Thanks! Penny Peck

Posted in Message from ACL, News, Professional Development | Tagged , | Leave a comment

More Reports from ALA Conference by ACL Members

Helen Bloch’s highlights of her ALA Annual Conference attendance:
Helen• ECRR2 – Does it Really Work? Evaluating the Program – This was a panel discussion looking at the research protocol used and results gathered from an IMLS grant (Project Views) run by the University of Washington Information School. The study found that storytimes which incorporate ECRR2 practices improve children’s early literacy behavior. For more info, go to their website: http://digitalyouth.ischool.uw.edu/research/current or their Facebook page http://www.facebook.com/VIEWS2.

• What No Tchotskes? Creating an Experience Based Summer Program – This was a presentation by three librarians from the Chicago, Arlington Heights and Lisle Public Library systems who talked about changing the focus of summer reading programs from reading a certain proscribed amount of time or pages to experiential learning (projects which encourage exploration and discovery). For example, the Chicago Public Library uses a series of design challenges. Tackle boxes filled with simple supplies like paper clips and pipe cleaners are put together. Then a series of challenge cards are created and children have to figure out how to meet the challenge using only the materials found in the box. As an example, the book, Caps for Sale was included and kids had to create a way to keep the caps on the peddler’s head as their weekly challenge. This type of learning accommodates all learning styles and helps prevent summer slip in math and science.

• Let Our Rejoicing Rise – 45 Years of the Coretta Scott King Award: A Conversation with Past and Present Winners – This was sheer pleasure. After a brief reception, a panel consisting of Bryan Collier, Nikki Grimes, Patricia McKissack, Kadir Nelson, Theodore Taylor III and Rita Williams-Garcia and led by Andrea Davis Pinkney informally discussed writing and the relevance of the Coretta Scott King Award.

• 2014 ALSC Charlemae Rollins President’s Program. The Ripple Effect: Library Partnerships that Positively Impact Children, Families, Communities, and Beyond – This program highlighted some outstanding partnership efforts that are taking place around the country. The one that really stood out to me was Brooklyn Public Library’s partnership (Nicholas Higgins, Outreach Coordinator) with the Metropolitan Detention Center to arrange televisits so that incarcerated parents could read to their children while the children are visiting a public library location.
Helen Block, Oakland Public Library

Alan Bern’s Report from ALA Conference:

HomelessIn Las Vegas I attended a LLAMA_BES – Preconference Serving Homeless Library Users in Academic and Public Libraries. It was one of the best preconferences I have attended. It was organized by Minnesota architect, Jeffrey Scherer, FAIA, Founding Principal, MS&R with over 40 years of design experience working with libraries and commercial office buildings (msrdesign.com/people/jeffrey-scherer/).

There are, at least, 23 definitions of homelessness: it is vital to remember that the group we in libraries tend to think of first is the chronically homeless. Unlike some of the chronically homeless, most homeless people are not mentally ill, not addicted to drugs, not uneducated, and not criminals.

Although homelessness in the U.S. has actually decreased in the last year or two by a couple of percentage points, it has increased in the arena of families: so many families are still right on the edge of losing their homes. The largest growing group of homeless people is women and children. Children make up over 15% of the homeless population, and, if one uses the definition of the schools, many more are considered homeless; for example, a kid who lives with his uncle (for whatever reason) and may come to school without a proper breakfast or without proper rest is considered homeless by the schools. Enormous numbers.

Libraries have an opportunity, with training, to work more closely with other organizations serving those experiencing homelessness. There is also an opportunity to work with social workers (SFPL or SJPL) or with other professionals serving those experiencing homelessness within our libraries to better serve these populations.

For those with access to ALA Connect, please go to http://connect.ala.org/search/site/homelessness for the posted presentations (top hits on this page).
Alan Bern, Berkeley Public Library

Posted in News, Professional Development | Tagged | Leave a comment